LION takes top prize at ASC awards

Captured on ALEXA, LION shot by Greig Fraser ASC, ACS took home the ASC Award for Outstanding Achievement in the feature category.

Greig Fraser ASC, ACS earned the Theatrical Award for best cinematography for LION at the 31st Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Hollywood on Feb. 4th. Captured on ALEXA, the touching drama directed by Garth Davis is based on the true story of a man’s quest to find his long lost family. Other nominees in the category included James Laxton for MOONLIGHT, Rodrigo Prieto ASC, AMC for SILENCE, Linus Sandgren FSF for LA LA LAND and Bradford Young ASC for ARRIVAL. This was Fraser’s first ASC nomination.

Greig Fraser ASC, ACS on the set of LION with director Garth Davis

In the Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television category, the winner was Fabian Wagner BSC for GAME OF THRONES, “Battle of the Bastards” episode. The series is shot on ALEXA. Wagner was previously nominated for episodes of GAME OF THRONES in 2016 and 2015. Contenders in his division were John Conroy for PENNY DREADFUL “The Day Tennyson Died,” David Dunlap for HOUSE OF CARDS “Chapter 45,” Anette Haellmigk for GAME OF THRONES “Book of the Stranger” and Neville Kidd for OUTLANDER “Prestonpans.”

The Regular Series for Commercial Television award went to Tod Campbell for his work on MR. ROBOT, while the Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot for Television win went to Igor Martinovic for THE NIGHT OF. Martinovic relied on the ARRI ALEXA to lens THE NIGHT OF.

The ASC Spotlight Award for outstanding cinematography was given to Gorka Gómez Andreu AEC for HOUSE OF OTHERS. The Spotlight Award honors feature length projects that are screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited theatrical release. Other nominees were Lol Crawley BSC for CHILDHOOD OF A LEADER, Ernesto Pardo for TEMPESTAD and Juliette van Dormael for MON ANGE.

The ASC Board of Governors Award was presented to Denzel Washington (FENCES, GLORY, TRAINING DAY) by Samuel L. Jackson for his significant and indelible contributions to cinema through his body of work. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer, and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions for directors of photography and the visual art form.

Denzel Washington was awarded the ASC Board of Governors Award

The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Ed Lachman ASC (CAROL, FAR FROM HEAVEN, MILDRED PIERCE) and presented by director and frequent collaborator Todd Haynes. The ASC Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Ron Garcia ASC (MURDER IN THE HEARTLAND, THE DAY LINCOLN WAS SHOT) by Steven Poster ASC.
Philippe Rousselot ASC, AFC (A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT, HOPE AND GLORY, FANTASTIC BEASTS) received the ASC International Award from actress Rachel Nichols.

Lifetime Achievement honoree Ed Lachman ASC takes his hat off to the many supporters of his work.

Nancy Schreiber ASC (YOUR FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS, THE NINES, THE COMEBACK) was bestowed the ASC Presidents Award by James Chressanthis ASC, GSC. This award is given not only for the recipient’s body of work, but dedication to the organization and its mission of advancing the art of cinematography through education.

Nancy Schreiber ASC accepts the ASC Presidents Award

The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Bruce Berke, long-time motion picture marketing and sales executive and ASC Awards show director, and Frank Kay, marketing director at J.L. Fisher and chairman of the ASC Awards Sponsorship Committee. This award is presented to an ASC Associate Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion picture industry.

Philippe Rousselot ASC, AFC with presenter Rachel Nichols

ARRI congratulates all of the winners and nominees on their exceptional work.