What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:35 pm

Hi, If I want to control Skypanel wirelessly, what do I need?

I saw Mike showed how to control Skypanel on NAB seminar with little white box.

I'd like to have full functions of Skypanel, like fan control, color, filter. etc., by iPad wirelessly.

Will it be possible? If it's possible, what do I need for Skypanel itself, and what do I need for control side?

Thank you.
IslandArrowcam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:28 pm

Re: How do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:23 pm

Hi IslandArrowcam,

There are several different ways of controlling a SkyPanel wirelessly. Depending on your application one of these might work better than another.

1. Wireless DMX: Wireless DMX is a professional and robust system for communicating DMX and RDM. Several companies make solutions for this. One example is a company call Innovative Dimmers (http://ratpacdimmers.com). They make a product called CINTENNA RX that consists of a transmitter and several receivers. The great thing about this product is that the receiver plugs directly into the DMX In port of the SkyPanel and is powered by the USB-A connector also on the SkyPanel. This makes for a very easy solution. Other companies that make wireless DMX devices include: RC4, City Theatrical, Chauvet, among others.

2. WiFi: WiFi is a good solution for allowing easy connectivity of the fixture using a mobile device. The only downside is that it is not as reliable as professional wireless DMX solutions. Since FW 2.0, the SkyPanel has Art-Net implemented which makes it very simple to control the fixture over WiFi. All you would need to do is connect the LAN port of the SkyPanel to a wireless router (or access point). The mobile device (iPad, iPhone, Android) can connect to the WiFi signal of this router and you could use an app like Luminair to control the fixture - it's that simple. Luminair will use Art-Net to communicate to the fixture over the WiFi.

There are some routers that are very small and can be powered using the USB port but the signal strength is low. There are more robust routers (Airport Extreme, Linksys, D-Link, etc) that would give you a better signal but they will need to be powered separately.

3. LAN: Another option is to connect the SkyPanel to an existing LAN network and control the fixtures though a WiFi access point attached to that network. This is similar to option #2 but assumes there is a wired network installed in your location.

I hope this helps and have fun playing with the new features.

- Mike Wagner
Senior Product Manager, Lighting
Mike Wagner
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: How do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Sat May 07, 2016 4:15 pm

Thank you very much for these detailed reply, I enjoyed your seminar at Vegas a lot.

I'll try my best to enrich Arri forum with more posts and qeuestions. :D
IslandArrowcam
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:28 pm

Re: How do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Tue May 24, 2016 1:59 pm

Hi. Since Luminair cost 90 dollars in the App Store, my question is: Theres is a free app to control de Skypanel wireless? If exists, can you explain to me a step-by-step method to do that, using a router connectes to the SkyPanel?

Thank you
Brunzo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 23, 2016 9:07 pm

Re: What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:45 am

Brunzo,

There is nothing available that I am aware of. If you find something - please post here so everyone can take advantage.

Thanks.
Mike Wagner
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Fri Nov 04, 2016 4:38 pm

Hi, i was trying to control skypanel trough small router and laminair app and was imposible. Could you tell me which options must activate o deactivate on lamp's menu to get that?

I find very important achieve that because when you enter in light color's world usually you have to try several colors shift to find de desired one.

Thanks a lot.

Christian Cottet (ADF)
cottet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:53 pm

Hi Christian,

Here are a few settings you can check on the different device to ensure proper operation.

SkyPanel:
DMX Settings - make sure your DMX address and DMX protocol is set correctly and matches your setup in Luminair
Art-Net Settings - make sure your Net, Subnet and Universe is set properly and matches your setup in Luminair (default is 0, 0, and 0). Also ensure that your Art-Net State is set to "Enabled"

Router:
- Make sure your router is set up as an access point and is has DHCP enabled
- Plug in the Router to the SkyPanel using a standard ethernet cable - make sure the cable is in good condition

Luminair:
- Make sure the mobile device (iPad, iPhone, Android) is connected to the WiFi network of the Router
- Make sure that Art-Net is enabled in Luminair
- Make sure the Output Subnet and Universe settings match the SkyPanel settings (default is 0 and 0)
- Make sure the Node is set to "Broadcast"
- The circle in the top right of your project screen should be green

It is hard to say where your issue may be as there are many parts that need to be setup correctly. Usually this is plug and play, but if one setting gets changed by mistake, it could break the communication. If you continue to have problems, feel free to contact one of our service centers and they can help trouble shoot the problem.

Thanks for your question and have a great day.

- Mike Wagner
Mike Wagner
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:42 pm

Re: What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Thu Nov 10, 2016 8:38 pm

Hello,

Air Stream dmx, from the Apple Store., could work with sky Panels.

I could Not try it yet, but Looks like might be posible.

Thanks,

Sebastián Mendelberg,
Gaffer,
Argentina.
Sebamendelberg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:40 am

Re: What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Mon Feb 06, 2017 9:40 am

Hello Mike,

the other day I had two S60-C on a shoot and tried to control them via Luminair using two small usb-powered mobile routers on each unit. I connected the routers to each of the S60 with ethernet cables as you suggested earlier. It was no problem at all to log in to the corresponding WiFi of each unit and to control them one at a time. But what I could not sort out is how to control both units at a time without having to switch permanently between the two WiFi's on my Iphone/Ipad. Is that possible at all? It would be great to have the possibility to be able to control more than one unit at a time via Luminair using WiFi & ArtNet. Maybe this is more of an issue on how how to configure your routers and how to set up a network dealing with IP-adresses, but maybe you can help?

Regards,

Chris.
cstampler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:30 pm

Re: What do I need to control Skypanel wirelessly?

Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:00 pm

Hi Chris,

the simplest to set up would be to only connect wirelessly to the first Skypanel. Then connect the second Skypanel using a DMX cable. Set them to the same DMX address if you want their settings to remain the same. Choose different DMX addresses if you want to be able to control them individually.
If you cannot have a cable connecting the 2 Skypanels and wish to connect to both wirelessly you will need to set up your wireless routers so 1 is connecting to the network created by the other, or having them both connect to the network created by a 3rd, probably larger router. You need to look for the features wireless bridging or wireless repeating.

I hope this helps,
Silvan
Silvan Liu
Service ARRI East Asia Pacific
Silvan Liu
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:11 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Next

Return to LED fixtures