WC4 and AMC-1 menus on mini?

Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:11 pm

If I am using the WC4 and the AMC-1 on the Alexa mini with the Canon mount, do i still get camera menu control with the WC4 or is that only with the PL mount?

thanks
jakecamera
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:56 am

Re: WC4 and AMC-1 menus on mini?

Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:30 pm

Dear Jake,

in that case you would be missing a protocol connection from the Mini to AMC-1 to control the camera.
Mini's EXT does not support to be a "LCS Port" to feed data to AMC-1 and to the WCU-4.

Kind regards,
Jan
Jan Heugel
Application Engineer
Jan Heugel
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:15 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: WC4 and AMC-1 menus on mini?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:23 am

Thanks for the info. So on the wc-4:

-If I use the pl mount and no amc-1, I get menu and motor control and start stop

-If I use canon mount, and the amc-1 attached to to ext port I get power/motor/ and trigger but no
Menu control

So if I use canon mount but power the amc-1 with a lemo connection and don't plug in to the ext port, what happens then? I do I get menu control back but just lose trigger?
jakecamera
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:56 am

Re: WC4 and AMC-1 menus on mini?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:04 am

Hey Jake,

The only way for full control on the Mini is when the WCU-4 is directly talking to the camera.
That is the case when the PL mount with LBus is being used.

When you work with a EF lens, you will need the AMC-1 which can only trigger the camera.

Your last example won't work since you are always lacking the data connection (to the AMC-1 - which does the talimg to the WCU-4) wich Mini does not supply.

Cheers,
Jan
Jan Heugel
Application Engineer
Jan Heugel
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:15 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Return to ALEXA Mini