Keyvisual-Lens Data_Webpage

ARRI TECH TALK Live: Making the Most of Lens Data

English Version

Date and Time: 
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Berlin 7.30 - 8.00 pm | London 6.30 - 7.00 pm | New York 1.30 - 2.00 pm | Los Angeles 10.30 - 11.00 am | São Paolo 3.30 - 4.00 pm | Beijing 2.30 - 3.00 am | Hong Kong 2.30 - 3.00 am | Sydney 5.30 - 6.00 am

Topic: Making the Most of Lens Data

The ARRI Lens Data System (LDS) offers continuous information about the lens and its settings (focus, iris, and zoom). This information can be sent directly to the camera viewfinder, to a lens control unit, and to displays on and off camera to be used by the operator, focus puller, cinematographer, DIT, and others to whom it is useful. Lens data is also recorded as part of the original camera data, from where it can be brought into postproduction for use by editorial or VFX. 

Lens data is automatically available from ARRI lenses and cameras with integrated LDS functionality. It can, however, also be generated for lenses with no LDS support, and there are even ways to use lens data on cameras that cannot read it.

In the webinar you will get an overview of how to set up LDS with different camera/lens combinations, the improvements of LDS-2, and how to make lens data accessible for postproduction.

ARRI Experts:

Oliver Temmler, Product Manager for Recording Media and the Lens Data System at ARRI.
Oliver joined our technical customer support team as a product specialist for the ARRIFLEX D-20 in 2005, became part of the Digital Workflow Solutions group when we launched ALEXA, and for the past few years has been the key ARRI contact for third-party manufacturers of our recording media. 

Key Takeaways:

  • Why LDS can make a difference to the entire production chain
  • LDS with smart and not-so-smart lenses
  • Differences between LDS-1 and LDS-2
  • Extracting lens data

Prior required knowledge:
None. In a live chat you can ask questions which will be answered directly.