GRAVITY takes top honors at ASC awards

GRAVITY takes top honors at ASC awards

Emmanuel “Chivo” Lubezki won the ASC Award in the feature film competition for GRAVITY at the 28th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement, held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. GRAVITY was captured with ALEXA in ARRIRAW to Codex Recorders. ARRI Media in the UK supplied the cameras and Master Prime lenses for the production.

Lubezki accepted the award by saying, “I share this award with the cast, crew and director Alfonso Cuaron. I’m so lucky to work with him. I also share the award with Tim Webber (VFX Supervisor) and the visual effects team.” Lubezki has won the organization’s top prize twice for THE TREE OF LIFE (2012) and CHILDREN OF MEN (2007), and was also nominated for SLEEPY HOLLOW (2000).

Other nominees in the feature film category were Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 YEARS A SLAVE, Barry Ackroyd, BSC for CAPTAIN PHILLIPS, Philippe Le Sourd for THE GRANDMASTER, Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS, Phedon Papamichael, ASC for NEBRASKA, and Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for PRISONERS.

First-time ASC nominee Jeremy Benning, CSC garnered the Television Movie/Miniseries Award for National Geographic Channel’s KILLING LINCOLN. Also nominated in the Television Movie/Miniseries category were David Luther for Starz Network’s THE WHITE QUEEN (“War at First Hand”), and Ashley Rowe, BSC for Starz Network’s DANCING ON THE EDGE (Episode 1.1).

The Outstanding Achievement Award in the one-hour episodic television category went to Jonathan Freeman, ASC for his work on “Valar Dohaeris,” the third season premiere episode of HBO’s GAME OF THRONES. This is the fourth statue for Freeman who previously won for BOARDWALK EMPIRE (2012, 2011) and HOMELAND SECURITY (2005). ALEXA cameras are used to capture GAME OF THRONES.

The half-hour episodic television category award to Blake McClure, also a first-time ASC nominee, for the “Detroit” episode of Comedy Central’s DRUNK HISTORY.

Acclaimed filmmaker John Carpenter presented the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award to Dean Cundey, ASC. The two filmmakers collaborated on HALLOWEEN, THE FOG, ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK, THE THING, HALLOWEEN II and III, and BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA. Cundey’s work on Robert Zemeckis’ landmark, live-action film WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT (1988), garnered him both Oscar® and BAFTA nominations. Cundey’s credits include the BACK TO THE FUTURE trilogy, ROMANCING THE STONE, HOOK, APOLLO 13, JURASSIC PARK, JACK AND JILL, CRAZY KIND OF LOVE, and upcoming releases WALKING WITH THE ENEMY and CARRY ME HOME. 

The ASC International Award was presented to Eduardo Serra, AFC, ASC by director Edward Zwick. Serra earned his first Academy Award® nomination for Iain Softley’s THE WINGS OF THE DOVE (1997), which also netted him a BAFTA Award. In 2004, he received Oscar® and BAFTA nominations for Peter Webber’s GIRL WITH THE PEARL EARRING. Serra has over 50 features to his credit, including JUDE, WHAT DREAMS MAY COME, A PROMISE, HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART 1 and PART 2, BLOOD DIAMOND, BEYOND THE SEA, UNBREAKABLE, and THE WIDOW OF SAINT-PIERRE, among others.

The Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Richard Rawlings, Jr., ASC, by John C. Flinn III, ASC and Michael O’Shea, ASC. Rawlings’ first TV series as a DP was in 1978 on CHARLIE’S ANGELS. He went on to shoot such memorable series as L.A. LAW, BOSTON PUBLIC, GILMORE GIRLS and DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES, among others. He earned Emmy® nominations for the series OHARA (1987), PARADISE (1988), REASONABLE DOUBTS (1991), and the television movie BIG DREAMS & BROKEN HEARTS: THE DOTTIE WEST STORY (1995).

IDA, shot by Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski on ALEXA, won the inaugural ASC Spotlight Award. The organization created this award to recognize outstanding cinematography in features and documentaries typically screened at film festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release. Also nominated for a Spotlight Award was Mark Lee Ping Bing for RENOIR, and Camille Cottagnoud for WINTER NOMADS.

The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Beverly Wood, EVP of Technical Services and Client Relations for EFILM, a Deluxe Digital Studios company. The award is presented to an Associate ASC Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion picture industry.