Lubezki earns ASC honor for TREE OF LIFE

Lubezki earns ASC honor for TREE OF LIFE

Emmanuel Lubezki ASC, AMC, was awarded the feature film prize last night for THE TREE OF LIFE at the 26th annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards in Hollywood. This was the second win for Lubezki who won in 2007 for CHILDREN OF MEN. The DP thanked his crew, especially First AC Erik Brown who was critical in keeping the often spontaneous action in focus.

TREE OF LIFE: Cinematography Featurette

Producers of TREE OF LIFE, including Brad Pitt talk about Oscar-nominated cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki’s work for THE TREE OF LIFE directed by  Terrence Malick. 

TREE OF LIFE was shot on the ARRICAM Lite and ARRIFLEX 235 with ARRI Zeiss Ultra and Master Primes. The Austin, Texas-based production was serviced by ARRI CSC. Lubezki bested fellow nominees Jeff Cronenweth, ASC, for THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, Robert Richardson, ASC, for HUGO, Guillaume Schiffman, AFC, for THE ARTIST, and Hoyte van Hoytema, FSF, NSC, for TINKER TAYLOR SOLDIER SPY. Lubezki is also in running for the Best Cinematography Oscar with TREE OF LIFE.

Last year, Wally Pfister, ASC, BSC won the ASC feature film award for INCEPTION, and went on to take home the Oscar as well.

For the second year in a row, Jonathan Freeman, ASC won for HBO's Boardwalk Empire in the Television Episodic Series/Pilot category for one-hour shows. Freeman also won in 2005 for HOMELAND SECURITY. His episode “21” was up against another episode from BOARDWALK EMPIRE shot by David Franco. For the CALIFORNICATION episode “Suicide Solution,” Michael Weaver, ASC took home the prize for TV Episodic Series/Pilot category for half-hour show – a new category this year. The episode was shot with ALEXA and Super 16.  Martin Ruhe won in the TV Movie/Miniseries category for PBS’ PAGE EIGHT. This was his first ASC nomination.

Special honors were also given out during the evening, including the ASC Board of Governors Award to actor Harrison Ford; the Lifetime Achievement Award to Dante Spinotti ASC, AIC (HEAT, L.A. CONFIDENTIAL), William Wages, ASC (BURN NOTICE, BIG LOVE) was given the Career Achievement in Television Award; and the ASC Presidents Award was bestowed on Francis Kenny, ASC (JUSTIFIED, HEATHERS).

ARRI congratulates all of the nominees and winners of this annual cinematography celebration.